Russia Ukraine news LIVE: President Zelensky reveals conversation with Elon Musk

As The Russian invasion of Ukraine continues into its second weekend, we continue to update you on all the latest from Ukraine and Russia, as well as the most important responses from around the world. In this live blog on the situation in Ukrainewe will bring you the latest developments this Saturday.

Russia Ukraine Live Blog

Stay up to date with the latest developments in Ukraine in this live blog.

23:40 GMT/ 17:40 CST: President Zelensky spoke directly with Elon Musk.

Through one of his tweets, President Zelensky revealed that he spoke directly with Elon Musk about the Starlink Help Ukraine becomes.

23:11 GMT/ 17:11 CST: 100,000 Ukrainians join the branch of the voluntary armed forces.

According to the National Guard of Ukraine, 100,000 Ukrainians have decided to join the voluntary branch of the country’s armed forces. This excludes all foreign volunteers, it only counts Ukrainian nationals.

22:58 GMT/ 16:58 CST: The religious statue was evacuated from the Armenian Cathedral in Lviv and taken to a bunker

The statue is part of a medieval iconostasis that had survived even World War II.

22:53 GMT/ 16:53 CST: Viral video shows grandmother baking dessert for Ukrainian soldier so they ‘have the strength’ to come back alive

Grandma Melania bakes cakes for the Ukrainian army ‘so that the children have the strength to fight and come back alive’

22:41 GMT/ 16:41 CST: 18-month-old child killed in Mariupol shooting

10:37 p.m. GMT/ 4:37 p.m. CST: Visa and Mastercard leave Russia and will cease to operate in the coming days

Ukrainian Minister of Digital Transformation says Visa and Mastercard are leaving Russia.

21:56 GMT/ 15:56 CST: 100,000 Territorial Defense troops enlisted in Ukraine within 10 days

Kyiv Independent defense reporter Illia Ponomarenko reported that 100,000 Territorial Defense troops had enlisted in Ukraine in 10 days.

21:29 GMT / 15:29 CST: Reuters reported that Russia calls on EU and NATO to stop arms supplies to Ukraine

The Russian Foreign Ministry on Saturday called on the European Union and NATO countries to “stop pumping weapons” to Ukraine.

20:48 GMT/ 14:18 CST: International hacker group Anonymous has hacked the Russian Federal Security Service website

20:18 GMT/ 14:18 CST/ Forbes reported that the Ukrainian military destroyed approximately $3 billion worth of Russian military equipment

The Ukrainian army destroyed 33 planes, 37 helicopters, 251 tanks and 939 armored fighting vehicles.

7:45 p.m. GMT/ 1:45 p.m. CST: Ukrainian General Staff confirmed to have shot down two Russian planes and five helicopters

The Ukrainian General Staff confirmed that it shot down two Russian planes and five helicopters. Three pilots are taken prisoner.

19:17 GMT/ 13:17 CST: Secretary of State Antony Blinken stood at the Polish-Ukrainian border to meet Dmytro Kuleba

Secretary of State Antony Blinken stood at the Polish-Ukrainian border to meet Dmytro Kuleba, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Ukraine.

18:30 GMT/12:30 CST: More information on the Bennett-Putin meeting

The encounter between Israeli Prime Minister Naftali Bennett and Russian President Vladimir Putin lasted three hours, according to CNN’s Hadas Gold. She also reports that Bennet speak with Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskiy after meeting Putin.

18:00 GMT/12:00 CST: Ukraine demands more sanctions against Russia

Dmytro Kuleba, UkraineMinister of Foreign Affairs, called for a new round of sanctions against Russia.

5:30 p.m. GMT/11:30 a.m. CST: Americans in Russia urged to leave the country

the United States Government issued a warning to US citizens living or traveling in Russiaencouraging them to “leave immediately”.

4:45 p.m. GMT/10:45 a.m. CST: Israeli PM flies to Russia

Naftali Bennettthe Israeli Prime Ministertraveled to Russia today to speak with Vladimir Poutine in Moscow about Ukraine crisis.

4:15 p.m. GMT / 10:15 a.m. CST: Mental hospital seized by Russian forces

Russian forces took control of a psychiatric hospital with 670 people inside in the town of Borodyanka, regional governor Oleksiy Kuleba confirmed.

“Today we don’t understand how to evacuate these people, how to help them,” Kuleba said.

“They lack water and medicine. They are people with certain special needs, they need constant help…many of them have been bedridden for years.”

15:45 GMT/09:45 CST: Putin accuses Ukraine of failing to evacuate its citizens

The safe passage of citizens from Mariupol and Volnovakha did not happen after Ukraine stated that Russia continued their attacks, however Vladimir Poutine claimed that Ukraine sabotaged the drains.

15:15 GMT/09:15 CST: Putin’s threat to other countries

Vladimir Poutine warned that Russia will consider any country that imposes a no-fly zone above Ukraine as having entered the conflict.

14:45 GMT / 08:45 CST: Red Cross expects evacuations from Mariupol and Volnovakha to be delayed

The plan had been for evacuations of Mariupol and Volnovakha take place this Saturday, but the Red Cross said it no longer believed safe passage of civilians would be possible today.

14:20 GMT / 08:20 CST: Explosions at Bucha near Kiev

Drone footage, which has been verified by Sky News, shows military vehicles, explosions and soldiers in Buchaa city in the Kiev oblast and close to the Ukrainian capital.

2:00 p.m. GMT / 8:00 a.m. CST: Putin delivers a speech

In Russia, Vladimir Poutine expressed himself and took stock of the situation. He said the sanctions imposed by the West on Russia amount to a declaration of war

13:40 GMT / 07:40 CST: Aeroflot halts international flights

Aeroflot, the main Russian airline, has announced that it will stop operating international flights, except to Belarus. It won’t be immediate, but it will start from March 8, which is Tuesday.

13:10 GMT / 07:10 CST: Ceasefire talks continue

A humanitarian corridor was supposed to have been created for people to leave Mariupol and Volnovakha this Saturday, but Russian forces did not respect it. Representatives of both sides are believed to be in talks to try to restore ceasefire terms that will allow ordinary residents to get to safety.

12:45 GMT / 06:45 CST: Ukrainian hero Chybiniev has been killed

Russian forces killed Ukrainian hero Valery Chybiniev in a battle near Hostomel. This took place on March 3, which was actually Chybiniev‘the birthday of.

12:15 GMT / 06:15 CST: Mariupol evacuation halted

With Russian troops failing to abide by a ceasefire agreement, Mariupol city officials say, the planned evacuation of citizens has been postponed. Residents have been urged to return to shelters in the city.

11:50 GMT / 05:50 CST: US Secretary of State Antony Blinken is in Poland

Antoine Blinken, the US Secretary of State, has arrived in Poland, visiting Rzeszow near the Ukrainian border. He will discuss humanitarian aid and other security issues.

11:30 GMT / 05:30 CST: UK nationals urged to leave Russia

The British government is urging British nationals in Russia to leave the country if they can. “The Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO) advises against all travel within Russia as a whole due to the lack of flight options available to return to the UK and the increased volatility of the Russian economy,” says a statement. “If your presence in Russia is not essential, we strongly advise you to consider leaving by the remaining trade routes.”

11:05 GMT / 05:05 CST: Rally against Russian occupiers in Kherson

Residents of the city of Kherson hold a rally against the Russian troops who have occupied the city. Images of this demonstration were shared by Anton GerashchenkoAdvisor to the Minister of Internal Affairs of Ukraine.

10:45 GMT / 04:45 CST: Speech by Zelensky

ukrainian president Volodymyr Zelensky addressed the nation. “Today is Saturday but that doesn’t mean anything because our country no longer has a weekend,” he began. “It doesn’t matter what’s on the clock or what’s in the calendar. And it will be that way until we win.”

10:20 GMT / 04:20 CST: Reports that Russian troops are not respecting the ceasefire

According to Mariupol authorities, Russian troops are not respecting the agreed ceasefire along the entire length of one of the planned humanitarian corridors. Negotiations are underway between city officials and Russian forces to confirm the evacuation route.

09:50 GMT / 03:50 CST: More humanitarian corridors expected

In addition to the humanitarian corridor currently underway in Mariupol and Volnovakha, others are expected to take place in the coming days. “There will definitely be more deals like this for all other territories,” advises Ukraine’s Interior Ministryr Anton Herashchenko declared.

09:20 GMT / 03:20 CST: Ukraine claims to have shot down Russian helicopter

A video shared by the Ukrainian military apparently shows the country’s military shooting down a Russian military helicopter in the early hours of Saturday morning.

09:00 GMT / 03:00 CST: Partial ceasefire begins now

The Russian temporary ceasefire in Mariupol and Volnovakha starts right now, from 09:00 to 14:00 GMT. Russian troops will allow citizens to pass and flee the city.

08:25 GMT / 02:25 CST: Ukrainians return from abroad to join the fight

Many Ukrainians have returned to their homeland over the past two weeks to join the fight against Russia. According to the Defense Ministry, more than 66,000 Ukrainians have returned to join the resistance.

07:55 GMT / 01:55 CST: Russia to allow humanitarian corridors in Mariupol and Volnovakha

At 12:00 Moscow time this Saturday, Russian troops will stop firing in order to open a humanitarian corridor for the departure of residents of Mariupol and Volnovakha. These two towns have so far come under some of the heaviest Russian attacks, so this ceasefire will allow citizens to evacuate the area.