The offside law has changed
Harry Kane’s 50th England goal would NOT be awarded under new offside laws introduced for the new season, writes MARTIN LIPTON.
The International FA Board has now ‘clarified’ guidance to referees on what constitutes ‘deliberate’ play of the ball by defenders which resets play and puts the attacker in playing position.
Ifab’s overhaul is the result of Kylian Mbappe’s winner for France in the Nations League win over Spain last season.
Defender Eric Garcia stretched to block a through ball, inadvertently putting Mbappe – who was in an offside position when the ball was initially played – to score.
Under the revised guidelines, this would now be called offside.
But a series of examples to show the difference between what is considered deliberate and undeliberate included England’s equalizing penalty against Germany last month, converted by skipper Kane.
When Jack Grealish initially played the ball towards the German box, Kane was ahead of the last defender. It was played into play, however, when the ball was diverted from Lukas Klosterman behind Nico Schlotterbeck, who knocked down the Spurs striker.
Under the new interpretation, to come into effect instantly, Kane’s original position and the fact that Klosterman was trying to intercept rather than pass the ball meant he was offside, nullifying the foul.
In a joint statement, Ifab and Fifa said the changes reflected the view that “a player who is clearly in an offside position should not become ‘onside’ on all occasions when a opponent moves and touches the ball”.